Public Programs

The National Sporting Library and Museum provides several monthly programs, many of which are free to the public.

Open Late

Our Open Late concert series is back for its third year!  Please join us for great music, family fun, and food from Hammerdown BBQ on the last Friday of the month, May - August,  2017. Concerts and Museum admission are free and open to the public 6:00-8:00pm. Picnics are welcome but no glass containers or outside alcohol is permitted. Cash bar featuring wine from Greenhill Winery & Vineyards and beer.

Open Late concerts are made possible in part by a grant from the Town of Middleburg, the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Upcoming Events
Open Late - Bryan Shepherd - Friday, June 30, 2017
Open Late - Silver Tones Swing Band - Friday, July 28, 2017
Open Late - Piedmont Symphony Orchestra - Friday, August 25, 2017

Gallery Talks (every Wednesday)

Take advantage of our newest program, Gallery Talks. Once a week our  Museum Curators or Educator will give attendees a personalized peek at traveling exhibitions, new acquisitions or permanent collections pieces. No two talks will be alike. Reservations are not required and admission is free. Gallery Talks take place every Wednesday at 2:00 p.m.

Upcoming Events
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Gallery Talk - Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Sunday Sketch

Join NSLM for Sunday Sketch on the first Sunday of the month, from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Each month a local art teacher or artist leads a sketching session in the art galleries, guiding participants on style, composition, or another aspect of drawing. Supplies (pencils, paper, sketch boards, and clipboards) will be provided for attendees.

The program is free and open to the public of all ages. Participants will receive free admission to the Museum. Pre-registration is encouraged.

Upcoming Events
Sunday Sketch with Gail Guirreri-Maslyk - Sunday, July 2, 2017
Sunday Sketch with Rebecca Graham - Sunday, August 6, 2017
Sunday Sketch with Teresa Duke - Sunday, September 3, 2017
Sunday Sketch with Mary Jennings - Sunday, October 1, 2017
Sunday Sketch with Barbara Sharp - Sunday, November 5, 2017

School Programs

NSLM offers tours and STEM-based lessons for classes of up to 30 students at a time. For more information visit our Students & Groups Page or contact Anne Marie Barnes, Clarice & Robert H. Smith Educator, at ABarnes@NationalSporting.org or (540) 687-6542 x25.